Last Day of Class

Last Day of Class at Duke University

Yesterday was the last day of class for the Spring semester at Duke, where I work for the library. Each April, on the last day of class for the academic year, they have a big celebration called LDOC, with live entertainment, plus food and drink. I enjoyed mingling just a little, since I don’t recall this sort of formal, organized celebration when I was an undergrad.  While they don’t officially celebrate the last day of class at my library school, the ALA Student Chapter did supply food and drinks after Tuesday night’s class, which happened to be the last of the semester for me! It was nice to hang out and chat with the students who stopped by.

Going to Vote in the West Union Building

Meanwhile, the Durham County Board of Elections has early voting stations around the county, ahead of the upcoming election. While I was on West Campus yesterday, I stopped by the West Union Building to cast my early vote. I was able to walk right in and do my thing. The volunteers seemed happy to see me! They said they were being entertained by the music right outside on the Quad, but it didn’t seem to be their cup of tea!

About Lesley Looper

I'm a full-time library employee. I enjoy reading, photography, travel, blogging, and geocaching.
This entry was posted in Current Events, Fun, Internship, Professional Development, Work and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Last Day of Class

  1. That sounds like fun Lesley. Enjoy your little break – what classes do you have planned for next term?

    • Lesley says:

      I’m not quite finished with Cataloging yet, have a final project due next week! I’m taking Management and Systems Analysis online with Dr. Abdullahi this summer, and Uses & Users of Information on campus in the fall. Taking Summer Session I off from school, but will be busy with work and attending ALA in Anaheim.

Leave a Reply

