Getting Ready for Summer

Summers used to be so relaxing as a child, and even as a 2nd Grade teacher, summers were a delightful change of pace.  In the past 10+ years of work, though, summers have been a bit busier! Since my work involves being part of a team that helps pay invoices for library materials, and we work on a fiscal year, that makes May and June especially busy months! The month of July has been my relaxing time in recent years, including my traditional week of vacation during the first week of July.

This summer, things will be even more busy in June, with a weekend trip to South Carolina, and a trip to ALA Annual Conference a couple of weeks after that! I’ll return just in time to help my team finish the fiscal year.

July will be different this year, though, because I’m going to summer school. When does it start? The first week in July, of course! Class starts on July 3.  The good news is that I’ll get one more class under my belt, and it’ll be my first online graduate level class. I’m looking forward to the new experience, which includes having one of my colleagues at Duke Libraries in the class with me.

So, it’s been a big week of paying out big chunks of money. Earlier this week, I purchased my plane ticket to Anaheim for ALA. (Actually I’ll be flying into the Orange County Airport in Santa Ana, also known as John Wayne Airport! Who knew John Wayne had an airport named after him?! Love it!) And just this morning, I paid for summer school.  This has really put my budgeting and saving skills to the test! In the big scheme of things, this feels like part of  the educational process, really. SmartyPig has been a big help. Although the interest rate has dropped, the monthly automatic withdrawals and “out of sight, out of mind” have been a winning combination for me.

Clipart from Clipartheaven.com

About Lesley Looper

I'm a full-time library employee. I enjoy reading, photography, travel, blogging, and geocaching.
This entry was posted in ALA, Class, Getting Ready, Library School, Skills and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Getting Ready for Summer

  1. Can’t wait to see your posts and tweets from ALA Anaheim, I can’t go so I’ll be looking forward to hearing about it!

Leave a Reply

