Branching Out

Getting the opportunity to attend ALA (American Library Association) Annual Conference this summer has prompted me to look for more ways to get involved and stretch beyond my comfort zone professionally. Earlier this year, I submitted a volunteer interest form for several ALA committees, and found out recently that I’ve been placed on the ALCTS (Association of Library Collections and Technical Services) Outstanding Collaboration Citation Jury! The committee/jury assignment will last 1 year, and I’ll be able to participate virtually, receiving and commenting on applications/nominations by email. I love the idea of someone being awarded for collaborating, because Tech Services librarians, despite the reputation of working in the basement or in the back of the library without talking to anyone, are collaborators as well. I can’t wait to learn about librarians who have done a great job of collaborating!

Earlier this week, I ran into the electronic resources librarian where I work, and she mentioned that she was trying to wrap up ALA committee positions in her section, Continuing Resources, which is also part of ALCTS. I asked if there was anything I could do to help, and guess what! 🙂 After some discussion (and a number of questions on my part!), I added the Continuing Resources Section to my ALA membership, and agreed to be part of the CRS First Step Award Jury for the coming year! I don’t know much about continuing resources, but I know enough to be on this jury, and I’m looking forward to learning more while reading the award nominations!

 

Clipart from Clipartheaven.com

About Lesley Looper

I'm a full-time library employee. I enjoy reading, photography, travel, blogging, and geocaching.
This entry was posted in ALA, Networking, Professional Development and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Branching Out

  1. LibGirl09 says:

    Congratulations Lesley! That’s awesome! One of these days I’ll start becoming active with a professional association….

Leave a Reply

