The Tortoise and the Hare

It’s been on my mind lately, how slowly I’m earning my masters degree in library science. One of my co-workers is working full-time and going to library school full-time, albeit totally online. Of my wonderful study group partners, I had the fewest credit hours under my belt at the end of Spring Semester. I’ve been thinking a lot about this lately, mulling over the pros and cons of picking up more classes. Interesting thing is, I like the pace I’ve gone so far, and one class each in Summer Session II and one in the fall semester seems okay, with a full-time job and other things on my plate. In addition to work, I’m taking on some extra professional development (like shadowing at the Reference Desk and joining two ALA committees) that’s been inspired by my library school classes, professors, and fellow students, as well as co-workers, and I must admit that I’m enjoying the additional activities a lot so far. They’re adding an extra layer to my education, I think.

So for now, I’ll be looking at each semester ahead as I register for new classes, and make educational/professional plans for about 6-12 months at a time. I predict that at some point, I’ll decide it’s time to “get ‘er done” and do what I need to do to finish the coursework for the degree. Until then, I intend to enjoy the ride!

Clipart from Clipartheaven.com

About Lesley Looper

I'm a full-time library employee. I enjoy reading, photography, travel, blogging, and geocaching.
This entry was posted in ALA, Class, Decisions, Library School, MLS, Networking, Professional Development, Time Management, Work and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Tortoise and the Hare

  1. LibGirl09 says:

    Sometimes I feel the same way. I’ve been in library school since Fall 2010. By the time I graduate, it will have been 2.5 years. I just finished reading a blog of one of my classmates that finished her degree in one year. It did make me wonder.

    But like you, going part-time has allowed me to take time to do other professional development activties that I may not have had time for (especially if I had worked full-time while going to school full-time). So slow and steady works for me.

    Library school is what you make of it, and you have to do what works best for you, and not compare yourself to others. I think your plan to re-evaluate and plan 6-12 months at a time is good one. Continue to enjoy your journey! 🙂

Leave a Reply

