Getting Ready for ALA is Like Getting Ready for Summer Camp!

I’ve had a really busy weekend, mostly trying to get ready for ALA! In the small amount of time I’ve had to sit down and check Facebook, I’ve seen a few posts from several Facebook friends, with accompanying cute pictures, about taking their children to summer camp, and I’ve been smiling at the analogy. Well, part of my smile is from memories of my own of getting ready for summer camp. I remember going shopping for clothes, shoes, and other gear, and being so excited about all the activities, seeing old friends and making new ones, and soaking up the camp atmosphere. Sounds like my prep and anticipation for attending ALA!

In a few days, I’ll be heading to Anaheim for my first big conference. I know several people from work and library school will be there, but I’ll also be meeting a lot of new people, some in the Staff-to-Student Program I’ll be participating in, and many others too! I’ll be volunteering a chunk of the time, but look forward to other activities, but educational and social.

My to-do list on Remember the Milk is getting a little shorter, between what I’ve crossed off this weekend and what I’ve had deleted because I know some things won’t (or don’t need to) get done before Thursday! I still have a lot to do, though, now that I think about it, so I’m heading back to work!

 

Clipart from Clipartheaven.com

About Lesley Looper

I'm a full-time library employee. I enjoy reading, photography, travel, blogging, and geocaching.
This entry was posted in ALA, Fun, Networking, Professional Development and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

