TRLN Annual Meeting 2012

On Friday, I attended the TRLN (Triangle Research Libraries Network) Annual Meeting at the Friday Center in Chapel Hill, and as usual, I had a really good time!

The TRLN is a local library consortium, consisting of the libraries at Duke University, North Carolina State University, the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, and North Carolina Central University. The four libraries collaborate often, but this annual gathering is a great time to get together to learn, as well as to see library colleagues from around the Triangle.

This year’s keynote address was by Dr. Gary Marchioni, Dean of the School of Information and Library Science at UNC-Chapel Hill, and he spoke on the “Challenges and Opportunities for Academic Libraries and Library Education.” Since I’m a library student working in an academic library, I really enjoyed this talk!

Margaret Maron at TRLN Luncheon

After the keynote, there were several interesting breakout sessions to choose from. I decided to attend the one about using social media in libraries–very well done! After the breakout session, lunch was served. Margaret Maron, one of my favorite mystery writers, was the luncheon speaker! I really enjoyed hearing her talk about the writing process and her books. I’ve already preordered her next book, The Buzzard Table!

Virginia Jones, Mary Ann Barnett, and Tamara Rhodes from NCCU

Of course, seeing other library people from around the Triangle–people I know plus new people to meet, is one of my favorite things about this annual event! It was great to see several people from library school there this time!

About Lesley Looper

I'm a full-time library employee. I enjoy reading, photography, travel, blogging, and geocaching.
This entry was posted in Authors, Librarians, Libraries, Library School, Networking, Professional Development and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to TRLN Annual Meeting 2012

  1. Teresa says:

    Sounds like a great meeting! Gary Marchioni sounds very familiar…I think I cited him in one of my papers this past spring. Awesome that you got to meet one of your favorite writers too. So I have an off-topic question: Will you be running the Magnificent Mile race that will be taking place September 16th? I’m thinking about doing that as my first race (about to start the Couch to 5k program). I figure it would be a good race to start out with, then move on to a 5k.

  2. Lesley says:

    I don’t have the Mag Mile on my fall calendar yet, but now that you mention it, it should be! I’ve run that race several times, and it’s one of my all-time favorite events. Seriously. I can’t think of a better first race! Do it! Sign up today!

Leave a Reply

