New Semester Begins

The new school year started this evening with my new class, “Uses and Users of Information.” It’s a small class, only ten people! I knew several classmates already, but there are four brand new NCCU SLIS students in the class as well, so it’s a nice mix.

I did something new for tonight’s class: I left my laptop at home! I took a spiral bound notebook, my text and syllabus, plus my iPad in case I needed the internet for something. It turned out to be just fine, and I gained some time by not having to pack up the backpack this morning and unpack it after I got home from class. It felt a little retro, but I think this new setup will work just fine. 🙂

I miss having our whole study group in class, but Nancy and a couple other people I know are in there. It’ll be fun getting to know some new people too.

“Uses and Users” has a reputation for having lots of reading, and I think that’s definitely the case. It makes me glad I have just this one class, although I’m the only one in the class taking just one class. Ah, well!

About Lesley Looper

I'm a full-time library employee. I enjoy reading, photography, travel, blogging, and geocaching.
This entry was posted in Beginnings, Class, Library School. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to New Semester Begins

  1. Teresa says:

    I had Uses and Users of Information this past spring. It definitely was reading intensive! I was glad I was able to download the articles to my Kindle Fire instead of reading off of my laptop.

    Ah, spiral bound notebooks in class…brings back memories of the old school days. Even though you didn’t have your laptop with you, you still had your iPad. 🙂

    Good luck this semester!!

  2. Evelyn N. Alfred says:

    Do grad students typically have backpacks? I still haven’t done any school supplies shopping.

    • Lesley says:

      I used one all the time last year, since it had a padded section for my laptop (which I took for each class and study group session). It looks like I won’t need it the backpack this semester.

      Several other classmates also used them last year, but in my new class a couple of days ago, only 1 person out of 10 brought a backpack to class (and she brought her laptop in it).

Leave a Reply

