Time Among Librarians and Library School Classmates

For two nights in a row, I’ve had the pleasure and fun of being among classmates and librarians. Last night was our first ALA Student Chapter meeting of the year, and tonight I joined the NCLA group for a Happy Hour/Networking Mixer at Papa Mojo’s. This probably sounds corny, but I’m still basking in the positive energy of good conversations, cool professional connections, and hope for the year ahead. Yes, I’m still working on time management and motivation issues when it comes to the homework end of things, but drop me into a good class discussion, an ALA Student Chapter meeting, or an NCLA mixer, and I’m happy as a clam, talking about libraries, library schools, and other library-related things! I feel like an elementary school kid who says “Recess” is her favorite thing about school, because it’s when she gets to play “library” on the playground with friends.

I’m amazing I’m not burned out yet, since I talk about library stuff all day at work, then I get a kick out of talking about library stuff with others after work too. I guess it’s a sign I’m working in the right profession and in graduate school for the right field. Is every day perfect? No way. But there are way more good days than bad. Not a bad way to spend my time!

About Lesley Looper

I'm a full-time library employee. I enjoy reading, photography, travel, blogging, and geocaching.
This entry was posted in ALA, NCLA, Networking, Professional Development, Time Management and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Time Among Librarians and Library School Classmates

  1. Sounds like you are having a blast! I can’t wait to start Library school, and get to have nerdy discussion about everything library-related. 🙂

  2. Tamara Rhodes says:

    I know! It’s the best feeling, right? It makes me happy everyday to feel that and know that just a year ago, I was a lost Sociology undergrad. 🙂

Leave a Reply

