Happy New Year!

I returned to work today after two weeks off. While I really enjoyed my vacation, it’s good to be back!

One of the big things I accomplished on break from work and school was finishing five (count ’em!) books! They were:

  1. Murder on the House, by Juliet Blackwell
  2. Way Off the Road: Discovering the Peculiar Charms of Small Town America, by Bill Geist
  3. Organic, Inc.: Natural Foods and How They Grew, by Samuel Fromartz
  4. Bead on Trouble, by Barbara Burnett Smith
  5. Like Water for Chocolate, by Laura Esquivel

My favorite of this group was Like Water for Chocolate. It was such a nice change of pace from the “cozy mysteries” I usually read for pleasure. The family dynamics were both frustrating and fascinating, the setting interesting, and the cooking intertwined with magic gave it a bit of a mystical air.

Hunt Library

Hunt Library

In other library/book-related vacation news, last Saturday I took a tour of a new library, the Hunt Library at NC State University. I met fellow library school students Jessica and Tamara there, and got to see Deanna, my roommate from ALA Annual 2012, in action as the new Visitor Experience Librarian at Hunt. She did an awesome job of giving the tour! The rest of my photos from the new library tour are here.

About Lesley Looper

I'm a full-time library employee. I enjoy reading, photography, travel, blogging, and geocaching.
This entry was posted in Authors, Books, Fun, Reading and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

