Nothing Ventured, Nothing Gained

Earlier this week, I learned that I didn’t get the Shirley Olofson Memorial Award, which is a $1ooo award to help cover the costs of attending this year’s ALA Annual Conference. I’m a little disappointed, but I bet there were many applicants, so I wasn’t betting on it. I’m already looking forward to attending ALA Annual ’14 in Las Vegas, a city I’ve never been to before! How do I know I’m Vegas bound next year, you ask? Because I’ve already started saving for it! 🙂

Meanwhile, life is busy with school and work. I had a presentation last night in class. I think it went okay. I continue to enjoy this “Intro to Academic Libraries” class a lot!

presentationMeanwhile, our ALA Student Chapter is busy! I’m vice president this year, so I’ve been helping to organize activities. Last night, our faculty advisor, Dr. Abdullahi, did a program on giving better presentations, and we had food and drink beforehand. This Saturday, we’re having library school dinner at Mellow Mushroom, and about 20 people have RSVPed “yes” so far! We’ve got two more dinners planned this semester, and we’re also in the beginning phase of planning an unconference in April.

Clipart from Clipartheaven.com

 

About Lesley Looper

I'm a full-time library employee. I enjoy reading, photography, travel, blogging, and geocaching.
Video | This entry was posted in ALA, Class, Library School, Networking and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

