Attending a “Different” Conference

Last Friday, I attended the North Carolina Serials Conference for the first time. When I told my colleagues about signing up, some were surprised (since I don’t work with serials). But people who’d attended that conference before were supportive and encouraged me to go, and I’m so glad I did! (It helped that the conference was just a one-day event at the Friday Center in nearby Chapel Hill, so it didn’t throw a kink into my work, class schedule or study schedule.)

Even though the name of the conference implies it’s a conference for people who work with serials, I’m so glad I went. One of the sessions I attended about eBooks, where, much to my pleasant surprise, I met a Facebook friend and librarian in person! Even better, she was one of the presenters for the eBook session, and we ended up at the same big table for lunch, where we got to chat some more. The other breakout session I attended was on RDA, and while part of it was about serials cataloging, parts of it were more general, and I took away some ideas that will help me with my own work.

In addition to the interesting sessions, it struck me that there was plenty of time to network and chat with other librarians. Even though I knew a few people there already, it’s always nice to chat with them in a different space about different things, and meeting new people is always a plus!

All in all, it was a great conference, and I look forward to going back next year!

 

About Lesley Looper

I'm a full-time library employee. I enjoy reading, photography, travel, blogging, and geocaching.
This entry was posted in Networking, Professional Development, Skills and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

