Waiting for News

desk_calendar_3Last month, I applied for a couple of things with library-school related groups, both with “early April” notification. One is being part of a Conversation Starter on library advocacy with the Hack Library School bloggers at the ALA Annual Conference this summer, and the other is the ALA Student Chapter of the Year Award. Good thing I’m busy with full-time work as well as my library school assignments, or the waiting would be driving me bananas!

Working on the Conversation Starter proposal with other HLS bloggers was a creative process that made me glad I’ve gotten to meet such a cool group of library students from across the nation this academic year! I’ve learned so much from them.

The Student Chapter of the Year Award nomination was a culmination of our chapter’s activities and awards for the academic year. It was the first time my library school’s ALA Student Chapter has applied for the award since I’ve been there, and maybe it’s the first time ever. While we’ve done some really good things this year, the completed nomination form made me wish we could’ve done even more. In the big scheme of things, though, it made us look at all we’ve accomplished over two semesters, and hopefully give next year’s officers some ideas.

Stay tuned!

Clipart from Clipartheaven.com

About Lesley Looper

I'm a full-time library employee. I enjoy reading, photography, travel, blogging, and geocaching.
This entry was posted in ALA, Annual, Library School, Networking, Professional Development and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

