Better Luck Next Time

In the past few days, I learned that our ALA Student Chapter of the Year nomination didn’t make the cut; neither did the Hack Library School ALA Conversation Starter proposal I contributed to.  I learned some things from both, though, and hope to be part of other ALA presentation proposals in the future.

Speaker Camp

Speaker Camp

While gaining experience and talking with others who have done presentations at ALA and other conferences will be the most helpful, I’ve been searching for other resources too. I’ve discovered a book on Amazon (but not in the library *yet*) called Speaker Camp: A Self-paced Workshop for Planning, Pitching, Preparing and Presenting at Conferences, that looks promising, so I’ve added it to my Amazon Wish List. I’ve also renewed my membership to Blue Devil Toastmasters.

 

About Lesley Looper

I'm a full-time library employee. I enjoy reading, photography, travel, blogging, and geocaching.
This entry was posted in ALA, Professional Development and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Better Luck Next Time

  1. Russ says:

    Did you ever check out speaker camp? And if so how was it for you?

    • No, not yet, but it’s still on my wishlist. Have you read it yet?

      • Russ says:

        You could say that–I’m one of the authors. I was wondering if you’d read it and how you liked it! 🙂

      • Oh, cool! 🙂 I took a look at it again on Amazon yesterday, and left it on my list of post-semester books to get. I was asked to be part of a panel proposal for a conference in the spring, and we got accepted (yay!), so I’m hoping your book will help me prepare for that conference, plus others in the future. Thanks for commenting here!

      • Russ says:

        Congrats–and best of luck with the panel! It’s pretty exciting!

Leave a Reply

