Fall Semester Update

I received an email from the library school today, letting me know I’ve been cleared to Graduationgraduate in December, pending successful completion of this semester’s classes! I’ve got miles to go between now and December 1, when my final assignments are due, but it was still nice to get the email reminder that things are falling into place. I’ve ordered my cap, gown, and hood (lemon yellow for library science) already.

I’m taking Government Publications this semester, plus doing a practicum in serials cataloging, to finish  my final 6 credit hours. It’s turned out to be a busier semester than I imagined, but I’ve got to get ‘er done! I just have 8 more class sessions to attend (with October 13 off for fall break), down to single digits! Wow. I have a libguide (and accompanying presentation) due on Monday, and it’ll be about maps using government information. I still have a way to go on it, but at least I’ve started. It’ll be a busy weekend!

About Lesley Looper

I'm a full-time library employee. I enjoy reading, photography, travel, blogging, and geocaching.
This entry was posted in Class, Graduation, Library School and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Fall Semester Update

  1. Good luck Lesley, stay the course. You’ll do great. I’d be interested to learn more about your experience cataloging serials. I current do original cataloging for STEM subject headings. It was a learning curve, but I’m enjoying it.

    • Thanks!! I’m in the early, early stages of serials copy cataloging. I’ve done monographic copy cataloging for years, which helps some, but serials are a pretty big learning curve for me! No time for senioritis here!

  2. Congratulations! It seems like you started just yesterday – wow how time has flown!

    • You’re right, Kelley, it has flown by! It’s been a great experience, to boot! I must admit, though, I’m already thinking about ways to fill some of my free time with things I’ve missed doing (or wanted to try but didn’t have time) during library school.:)

  3. ceebarks says:

    Congratulations! I hope you will post photos! I’ve dreamed of wearing the lemon yellow hood the way I imagine some girls hanker for a white wedding dress. 😀

Leave a Reply

