Show Me the Money!

Well, I did it, I paid for my first semester of grad school today! Now it feels like I’m really doing it, starting my masters in library science next month! Wow!

It feels big for a couple of reasons (at least!). Mostly, going to library school is a dream I’ve had for over a decade, and it’s exciting to know it’s finally starting in a few weeks! Also, I’ve never saved THIS much money for one thing (except for retirement, which won’t happen for another 20+ years).

Using the online bank SmartyPig has been a big help in making the “saving money” part a little easier to coordinate. In fact, I’ve already started saving for next semester. My employer offers a tuition reimbursement benefit, but the tuition won’t come back to me until several weeks after my current grades have been submitted, and after payment for the next semester is due. (Understandable, but rats!)

As I paid the bill online earlier today, I thought about the months it’s taken me to save enough money for this first semester, and some of the other things I could spend that money on popped into my head. Honestly, there isn’t anything I’d rather spend the money on now, though. While I’m looking forward to the classes, I’m especially excited about the people I’ll meet and the library-related experiences I’ll have as I work my way through the courses. It’s a relief to know I’m not feeling any “buyer’s remorse” before I’ve even started grad school!

Clipart from Clipartheaven.com

About Lesley Looper

I'm a full-time library employee. I enjoy reading, photography, travel, blogging, and geocaching.
This entry was posted in Beginnings, Getting Ready, MLS and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Show Me the Money!

  1. Beth says:

    Don’t forget about the Anne Stone scholarship! Every little bit helps.

Leave a comment